Scottish Seas

(1 review)

Douglas Jones

Media: Audiobook

What would it be like to live in the Scottish highlands where the waves always smashed against the rocks and where faith and family meant more than your life?

Look Inside the Book or Listen on Canon+

Scottish Seas follows the fears and triumphs of Mac Ayton, a young Scottish farmboy in 1707, striving to grow strong amid clashes with the sea, banditry, myths, animals, and brothers. Set in and around the colorful fishing village of Auchmithie located on the rugged easy coast of Scotland, Mac and the rest of his family live a life full of laughter, faith, and wrestling.

Canonball Books is the children's imprint of Canon Press. At Canonball, we believe stories are soul food, so you can expect excitement, danger, loyalty, virtue, and family in your Canonball books. Feed your kids the right books!

From the Book:

Winner of the C.S. Lewis Noteworthy Books Award

The door to the cottage scraped open, and through the warm light from inside stepped Father and the two brothers, Willie and Sy, aged eight and seven. Father knew where to find Mac. He turned and looked at Mac’s eye peering around the corner. He spoke above the noise of the wind.

"So Mac, will you be going with us to the cliffs?" asked Father. The older brothers glanced at each other.

"He’s still afraid," said Willie.

"Quiet, Willie," said Father.

Father waited for an answer from Mac. He stepped out from behind the cottage corner.

"No, Father. I want to stay here."

"So be it," said Father, already turning. And the three walked toward the cliffs, across the sloping plain of deep green grass, that special green that you can only find in Scotland.

Douglas Jones was the managing editor of Credenda/Agenda magazine and a fellow of philosophy at New St. Andrews College, Moscow, Idaho. 

AUTHOR: Douglas Jones

PAGE COUNT: 150 pages

SIZE: 5.50x8.50"

ISBN 10: 1885767285

ISBN-13: 9781885767288

PUB. DATE: June 3, 1997

Customer Reviews

Based on 1 review
Amanda Lomax

The format of this audiobook is terrible. It’s a download, and there is no way to tell what chapter you’re on because they aren’t labeled.